My Teenager Cipher

I’m quite the paranoid person, not as much as some other people online, but more than the average person. At high school, while dealing with depression, I read somewhere that writing down what I’m feeling could help, so I started doing it, but there’s the issue: I don’t want anyone to be able to understand what I’m writing, while this could be done simply by writing in English, my paranoia screamed louder, so I decided to encrypt it as well as write it in English.

Now, it had to be something simply enough I could code in the fly, already writing in the codified manner, so a simple substitution cipher like Caesar’s should do the job, but despite the fact that most people when faced with a bunch of random letters would just give up and it worked fine, my paranoia screamed again that I should go for something less known, so I made up my own system.

It isn’t good, it isn’t really safe, and it was actually useless. Every time I finished writing I’d tear up the paper in as many pieces as I could to avoid someone analyzing it and breaking it, so I never really decoded any thing I wrote with this system. It did work once, I finished my school exams early and got to vent on the paper, the teacher suspected that I could be helping others cheat, but as soon as he saw it was a bunch of random numbers splattered around he figured it was hidden message that no one on the classroom would understand anyway and let me be.

Still, remembering it, I for fun decided to write a Python program for it, so here it is, named after my old internet name, the Hamyz Cipher.

Screenshot of the script working

Script here

To use just run ./HamyzCipher.py

Published 2022-01-21